Governor Bruce Rauner
Chair Dr. Lazaro Lopez
Executive Director Dr. Karen Hunter Anderson

Illinois Community College Board

Student Advisory Committee (SAC)

Hello and welcome to the Illinois Community College Board’s Student Advisory Committee’s (ICCB-SAC) website! Within, you will find multitudes of information about our group, but here is a short introduction.

The Student Advisory Committee (SAC) was established by the Illinois Community College Board (ICCB) in 1982. The SAC serves Illinois Community College students by representing their interests through reviewing ICCB policies, advising on those policies, and informing everyone on issues affecting the community college system.

There are 39 members of the SAC representing each of the 39 community college districts in the state of Illinois. Members are generally the student trustee of one of Illinois’ 48 community colleges, although a district CEO can appoint another representative.

The SAC is further broken down into subcommittees that foster activism in specific areas. There are four subcommittees: Local Issues, Legislative, Awards and Recognition, and Outreach.

Each year, the subcommittees dedicate their work towards a number of initiatives.