The Adult Education and Family Literacy Advisory Council was established by Public Act 91-0830. The Council is composed of 31 members (30 members and 1 provider member chair). The membership consists of eligible providers, agency partners, and other stakeholders whose charge is to identify, deliberate, and make recommendations to the Illinois Community College Board on adult education policy and priorities. ICCB staff support is provided by Jennifer Foster, Deputy Director of Adult Education and Workforce along with the entire Adult Education team.

Membership for 2017-2018

Chair: Elizabeth Hobson, Elgin Community College

Community-Based Organizations 

Michael Matos, Albany Park
Gisella Faggi, Chinese Mutual Aid
Kathleen Dowling, Greater West Town Community Development Project
Stephen Richard Alderson, Instituto del Progreso Latino
Elzbieta Chrzanowska, Polish American Association
David Wu, Pui Tak Center

Community Colleges

Dr. Arlene Santos-George, College of Lake County
Kerry Urquizo, Heartland Community College
Laura Vahlkamp-Anderson, Kaskaskia Community College
Monica Foster, John Wood Community College
Matt Beasland, South Suburban College

Public Schools/Regional Offices of Education

Sandra Snowden, Carbondale Community High School
Carey Thacker, Henderson/Knox/Mercer/Warren ROE #33
Shari Crockett, Monroe Randolph ROE #45
Diann Duke, Peoria County Jail ROE #48
Karla Libera, Springfield Public Schools, Dist. 186
Reni Mitkova, Township High School Dist. 113
Arlene Anderson, Urbana Public Schools

State Agencies

Tom Huber, Secretary of State Literacy Office
Rich Stempinski
, Illinois Department of Corrections
Caprisca Randolph-Robinson, Illinois Department of Human Services
David Adcock, IACEA Representative
Mark Weidemier, Illinois Department of Employment and Security
Shayla Grantham, Illinois State Board of Education
Lisa Jones, Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity

Service Center Network

Sue Barauski, The Adult Learning Resource Center
Dawn Hughes, Central IL Adult Education Service Center
Bevan Gibson, The Southern IL Professional Development Center

Illinois Continuing Adult Educators Association (IACEA)

Jerry Dixon, Waubonsee Community College

TESOL Representative

Khrystyna Sanborn, Heartland Community College

Illinois Community College Board Staff

Jennifer Foster, Deputy Director for Adult Education and Workforce Development/State GED Administrator
Jamil Steele, Senior Director for Adult Education and Literacy
Ben McDaniel, Director for Adult Education, Data and Accountability
Mackenzie Montgomery, Director for Student Services
Ben Greer, Associate Director for Adult Education – Regional Support, Region I and II
Nelson Aguiar, Associate Director for Adult Education – English as a Second Language and Immigrant Issues
Nora Rossman, Office Administrator for Adult Education
Brittany Boston, Associate Director for Career and Technical Education