Governor Bruce Rauner
Chair Dr. Lazaro Lopez
Executive Director Dr. Karen Hunter Anderson

Illinois Community College Board

Highway Construction Careers Training Program (HCCTP)

In collaboration with the Federal Highway Administration, in an intergovernmental agreement between the Illinois Community College Board (ICCB) and the Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT), the HCCTP was initiated in late 2009 in an effort to increase access to highway construction jobs for minorities, women and disadvantaged individuals.

The HCCTP emphasizes life-long learning and provides opportunities for further education and assistance to improve employability in Illinois’ highway construction industry. The program is administered by ICCB and is implemented through twelve community colleges throughout the state.

Each community college holds one to five training sessions per year in which individuals receive intensive training in highway construction-related skills, such as mathematics for the trades, job site readiness, carpentry, concrete flatwork, blueprint reading orientation, introduction to tools, forklift operation, and OSHA 10 or 30 certification, etc.

Each community college provides its graduates with assistance in obtaining placement in Illinois highway construction trade unions, apprenticeship programs, and/or with IDOT highway construction contractors. ICCB, IDOT and the participating community colleges do not guarantee employment upon a trainees’ graduation from HCCTP.

Candidates must meet the following requirements:

  • Interest in highway construction industry trades;
  • Be at least 18 years of age;
  • Have dependable child care arrangements, if necessary;
  • Possess a high school diploma or high school equivalency certificate;
  • Have appropriate assessment scores;
  • Hold a valid driver’s license; and
  • Consent to and pass an initial drug screening test and potential random tests.

For those who meet the minimum requirements, each candidate will undergo an interview and orientation process in order to qualify for selection into the HCCTP.


PROGRAM COORDINATOR CONTACTS AT THE COMMUNITY COLLEGES

John A Logan College Mark Etters (618) 985-2828 x8643 Mark.Etters@jalc.edu
Southwestern IL College Melissa Snelson (618) 874-6528 Melissa.snelson@swic.edu
Lewis & Clark CC Jeremy Elledge (618) 468-4149 jelledge@lc.edu
Richland CC Seth Brozio (217) 875-7211 x321 sbrozio@richland.edu
Parkland College R.J. Rowland (217) 353-2122 RRowland@parkland.edu
Lincoln Land CC Tom Spears (217) 786-3675 Thomas.spears@llcc.edu
Illinois Central College Monica Arbuckle (309) 690-6912 Monica.arbuckle@icc.edu
Kankakee Community College John Willard (815) 802-8205 jwillard@kcc.edu
Rock Valley College Scott Abbott (815) 921-3912 s.abbott@rockvalleycollege.edu
Kennedy-King College

Dawson Technical Institute

Kystal Stokes (773) 487-3692 kstokes@ccc.edu
Black Hawk College Paul Fessler (309) 796-5726 fesslerp@bhc.edu
South Suburban College Rebecca Garcia (708) 225-6042 rgarcia@ssc.edu